Change….

Life is amazing, even though it doesn’t always feel amazing. Life is exciting, even if you do the most boring activities. Korea makes me feel alive. Its not normal, at least for me. Its not boring, at least from what I have experienced. Everything is so different. Its not bad, just different. I used to get so nervous with Stephen’s driving, here the driving is nuts! Cars and taxis can run red lights if they don’t see anyone so I feel as though I’m going to get hit by a car/bus/taxi when I’m crossing a crosswalk. Motorcycles and scooters can ride on the road as well as the sidewalks so when I’m walking I feel as though I’m going to get hit by a motorcycle on the sidewalk! I’m not used to it yet, but everyone around me is! All the Koreans cross the road as if they are invincible! Taxi’s come to a screeching halt when they see them, and hopefully they do see them since they have tvs they watch in their vehicles! Yes, life is amazing to me here, and its far from boring. I find it easy to hide in my apartment, away from the craziness. Its so safe here, locked up in my house. Away from the crazy drivers and the Koreans who have no bubble whatsoever!

But it makes me marvel at how different cultures are. I was raised American, so coming to an Asian culture is different. Not bad, just different. The same would happen to a Korean if they came to America, they would feel uncomfortable because of the different environment. Not because it was bad, but that it was different. Do I miss America? Yes and no, I’m proud of my country in many ways, but I’m also embarrassed because of my country in many ways. There is no perfect country. There is no perfect government. There is no perfect food or way of life. That is why I love going to other countries, its fascinating. Every culture is different, and each nationalities is used to their own culture. The world is so different, and nothing is perfect. Yet God is perfect. He NEVER changes and He is my constant right now. I have a new husband, a new home, a new job dealing with a new country, new people, new coworkers, new friends, new food, basically new EVERYTHING and yet God is the same. He hasn’t changed in years and that gives me so much comfort. So today, as I hide in my comfortable little apartment with those things that are familiar to me I dwell on this. Everything around me is new, but God isn’t. He is constant, and I pray that that will never grow old to me…..

About dmsarchet

My name is Danielle Sarchet, I'm 28 years old and live in Lynchburg Virginia. I graduated from Liberty University 4 years ago with a degree in Psychology and now work as a Volunteer Coordinator at Gleaning for the World. Before working at such an amazing organization I taught in South Korea for almost two years, and in Thailand for five months. I have a passion for missions. I have been to Brazil, India, Mexico, Thailand, Cambodia, China and South Korea. Missions will always be a huge part of my life. I love to travel, do photography, write, paint, dream ect! I am a dreamer and see myself doing so many things in the future. Maybe this blog can be my outlet to try to accomplish those dreams! View all posts by dmsarchet

2 responses to “Change….

Leave a Reply

