Follow Me.Why are you so afraid? Go!

I was reading in Matthew 8 where Jesus kept performing amazing miracles. He healed a man with leprosy, he healed a centurion’s servant, he heals Peter’s mother-in-law and he calms a storm while He and the disciples were on a boat.

As Christians we believe these things have happened. We believe that when He said “Be clean” to the man with leprosy that he was clean. We believe that when Jesus said to the centurion “I will go and heal him” that He actually healed his servant.

And yet we find it so incredible difficult that Jesus can make us “clean.” That He can “heal us.” What little faith we have when we go through storms in our lives! Always being stuck in the past, wishing we did this or wishing we did that. Wow…what little faith…what little faith….It makes me wonder what I would do if I all of a sudden I got leprosy, or if I were on a tiny boat and a storm came crashing waves over me. I have such little faith now, what would I do if bigger things happened to me? We need to realize the grace that He has given us and stop being selfish and foolish to say that our sins can’t be forgiven. Wow, this chapter stuck me straight to the heart. What little faith I have, what little hope I have, how selfish and foolish I really am!

“He took up our infirmities and carried our diseases” vs. 17

So often we walk around with a disease, even though He has already taken it. I almost want to carry it for Him, but the end result will just be death. He has my infirmities. He has my disease. I no longer have to live death but live life. Live the life He has so freely given me!

“Follow me, and let the dead bury their own dead” vs 22

In Jesus we have life, but wow it is so easy to still fear death. Its foolish to be so afraid.

“You of little faith, why are you so afraid?” vs 26

“Go!” vs 32 – and the demon possessed man was no longer possessed.

When I read these verses I felt so inadequate. The more I read the Bible the more I know I don’t know. I start thinking, what if someone asks me a question that I’m not confident in answering? I know so very little about the Bible! But those verses are sticking in my head:

“Follow me” vs 22

“Why are you so afraid?” vs 26

“Go!” vs 32

This is what I must do, this is what you must do.

Paul said speaking to the church of Corinth:

“When I came to you, brothers, I did not come with eloquence or superior wisdom as I proclaimed to you, the testimony about God. For I resolved to know nothing while I was with you except Jesus Christ and him crucified. I came to you in weakness and fear, and with much trembling. My message and my preaching were not with wise and persuasive words, but with a demonstration of the Spirit’s power, so that your faith might not rest on men’s wisdom, but on God’s power.” I Cor. 2:1-5

What an AMAZING passage! I know that I will never be famous, I will not have a specific skill. I don’t have to know everything about the Bible to start sharing Him NOW! I don’t have to have big words or speaking gift. I am so encouraged that with the power of the Holy Spirit I can be used and so can you! Used not of this world, but used by God!

“No eye has seen

No ear has heard

No mind has conceived

What God has prepared for those who love Him….” vs 9

About dmsarchet

My name is Danielle Sarchet, I'm 28 years old and live in Lynchburg Virginia. I graduated from Liberty University 4 years ago with a degree in Psychology and now work as a Volunteer Coordinator at Gleaning for the World. Before working at such an amazing organization I taught in South Korea for almost two years, and in Thailand for five months. I have a passion for missions. I have been to Brazil, India, Mexico, Thailand, Cambodia, China and South Korea. Missions will always be a huge part of my life. I love to travel, do photography, write, paint, dream ect! I am a dreamer and see myself doing so many things in the future. Maybe this blog can be my outlet to try to accomplish those dreams! View all posts by dmsarchet

2 responses to “Follow Me.Why are you so afraid? Go!

Leave a Reply

