What does Submission mean?

So I was reading today in 1 Peter 3:1 and it says “Wives, in the same way be submissive to your husbands so that, so that if any of them do not believe the word, they may be won over without words by the behavior of their wives.”

I have been trying to read more in my Bible and ask myself questions about the passages. Its so strange but a lot of the passages that I read maybe two years ago and meant something specific to me than mean something different to me now. I always viewed this verse as following orders and rules like you follow orders and rules at a job. I hate rules in every aspect of my life other than a job. Its funny, Stephen always laughs at me because I rebelled against the rules my parents set up for me, I didn’t follow all the rules at Liberty and Bob Jones, and I don’t like “rules” that churches put on you as well. Yet at the job place I easily follow rules! Its funny. So naturally I had a hard time with this verse because I thought my husband would be like a parent, and thats not how marriage typically works, and if it does it could be abusive. I was thinking about it, and does this mean just to follow what rules your husband has for you? Because my marriage doesn’t have any rules on it. Stephen trusts me completely in the choices I make. We know each other’s deal breakers in marriage and keep each other accountable in them, yet I guess I am submissive to him. Am I?

Its an interesting passage, I see it in a different light now. I thought because Stephen and I are so different it meant I wasn’t submissive. He doesn’t put any rules on me at all except obviously the deal breakers that every marriage should have. So I find this passage comforting and encouraging. I guess I was just always afraid I was going to marry a man who acted like my parents in my life. Rules and regulations. I think I remember telling my mom something that once. I didn’t want to get married because I didn’t want anyone else telling me what to do. Haha. I guess God knew what a free bird I was and gave me a man who trusted me and saw my heart to want to change the world!

In any case, if its an consolation to any women out there that don’t like this verse like I did, take heart. Its not as bad as it seems!

About dmsarchet

My name is Danielle Sarchet, I'm 28 years old and live in Lynchburg Virginia. I graduated from Liberty University 4 years ago with a degree in Psychology and now work as a Volunteer Coordinator at Gleaning for the World. Before working at such an amazing organization I taught in South Korea for almost two years, and in Thailand for five months. I have a passion for missions. I have been to Brazil, India, Mexico, Thailand, Cambodia, China and South Korea. Missions will always be a huge part of my life. I love to travel, do photography, write, paint, dream ect! I am a dreamer and see myself doing so many things in the future. Maybe this blog can be my outlet to try to accomplish those dreams! View all posts by dmsarchet

2 responses to “What does Submission mean?

  • Leigh Manning

    AHHH what an excellent reminder. In the back of my mind, I can see a marriage acting as a ball and chain for me. I don’t want to be ruled by anyone other than the Lord! But if God has someone for me, he knows who will be best and each experience will grow me closer to him. Thank you for sharing this.

Leave a Reply

